Warlordccg.kingeshop.com

CCG Retailer Store : Warlord Saga of the Storm / L5R / MTG

Warlord CCG Warlord Saga of the Storm 4th Edition Rules Erratas FAQ
4E GAME RULES ENGLISH VERSION PART II :
The first part of the the 4E Game rules English version can be found at this
Illustration : G.W. Mickee II.
- Perform an Order from your hand :
A character may perform an action card from your hand to generate an effect. Select a character you control to perform the action card and put the card into play. It takes up no space in the rank and file system and is not part of your army. A character may only perform action cards that say ''Order:'' as an order. Action cards that say ''React:'' are performed whenever the card says to be performed and are explained in more detail below.
Most action cards have a class and/or trait restriction on them; only characters of that class and with the correct trait may perform these action cards. Other action cards have the classless symbol on them; if the card's text does not declare any restrictions, then any character may perform these. All action cards have a level; the character's level (including any modifiers for performing the action) must be equal to or greater than the action's level.
Some action cards attach themselves to cards in play if the card that it is attached to leaves play, the attached card is put into its owner's discard pile. Other action cards instruct you to do something with the card itself, such as removing it from the game or returning it to your hand; do so as soon as the rest of the action has taken effect. Otherwise, once the text of action card has taken effect (it will tell you what to do), the card is placed in your discard pile.
- Perform an Order already in play :
A character may perform an Order that is already in play to generate an effect. Select a character you control to perform an action printed in their game text, printed in the game text of an attached action or an equipped non-stunned item, or granted by a trait or another card effect. A character may only perform abilities that say ''Order:'' as an order.
Some actions on item cards require that the item be spent or stunned as part of the cost of the action, instead of or in addition to spending the acting character. If it does not, then the action on the item may be used while the item is spent (but not stunned, obviously).
- Pass :
When you cannot give any more Decrees (or simply do not want to), you must Pass. If all players pass consecutively, the Decree phase ends immediately. If you pass but your opponent does not, then the phase does not end and you may still give decrees later. In other words, passing does not forfeit your right to do anything, but you do risk having the decree phase end if you are hoping to surprise your opponents. Passing is not a Decree.
5th - End of Turn Phase :
In Initiative order, each player ceases one of their on-going card effects that lasts ''until end of turn'' (bonuses are lost, penalties go away, etc.) until there are none still in effect. Then, again in Initiative order, each player performs one of their card effects that occur ''at end of turn'' until there are none still waiting to be handled. At this point, the turn ends, and a new turn begins.
Miscellany.
Reacts :
Some actions have the word ''React:'' in them. Reacts are slightly different from Orders. They do not occur in the standard sequence that Orders do, and they do not cost you your opportunity to give a Decree. A React will tell you exactly when to perform it.
A single react may only be performed once in response to a single ''trigger'', regardless if that react is an action printed on a character or item in play, gained from an attached action card, granted by a trait or another card effect, or represented by a card in your hand (though multiple copies of the same card may be performed). If more than one player wants to perform a react in response to the same trigger, start with the player who won initiative this turn and proceed clockwise around the table. After each react has been performed, the sequence of play returns to the original trigger and, if the trigger is still valid for other reacts, the next player has an opportunity to perform one. If a player wants to perform more than one react in response to a single trigger, he must give the other players an opportunity to perform a react after each one of his own.
Performing a React action card functions like an Order action card (putting the card into play, meeting the class and level requirements, etc see above) except for the difference in when they are performed.
Spending :
Some actions require that the character spend as part of the cost of the action (usually, the action says ''Spend Order:'' or ''Spend React:''). If it does not require spending, then a character may perform the action while spent and, if ready, does not become spent by performing it.
Bonuses and Durations :
Bonuses and penalties to ATK, AC, Skill, HP or level last until end of turn unless they say otherwise. Changes to a character’s traits (including feats) similarly last until end of turn unless the effect says otherwise. All permanent or on-going effects on a card, including wounds, end when it leaves play. (UPDATE 02/2012)
Skill Checks and Saves :
Some actions require a character to make a skill check or a save against a certain Difficulty Class (''DC''). To do this, roll a d20 and add the characters skill. If the character has a bonus or penalty to the check or save (i.e. ''+3 on magic saves'' or ''2 on Perception checks''), add that to the result as well. If the total is equal to or greater than the DC, then the character succeeds with the check or save. The action that generated the check or save will describe the effects of success or failure. You may not voluntarily fail.
Actions :
An action is an order or a react - note that melee and ranged strikes are not actions by themselves.
All actions have a Cost which must be fulfilled. The first part of the cost is the Order, Spend Order, React, or Spend React that is to the left of the first colon. The rest of the cost (if present) is printed between the first and second colons. If the action is a react, then the cost includes a trigger (the timing of the react). The cost might have payment and targeting instructions as well. All parts of the cost must be fulfilled, and the payment instructions may only be fulfilled by/with cards you control.
All actions have an Effect. Unless the action says otherwise, it is not necessary that all the parts of an effect occur. Do as much as possible and ignore the rest. Any variables that are part of an effect are set when the effect is generated and do not change even if their source does (i.e. An effect based on a character's stat such as level, skill or alignment will not change if the stat does, even if the character leaves play).
Illegal Actions :
An illegal action is one that cannot be performed, which is determined before the action is declared. If it is not possible to pay all of the costs of the action, or meet all of its class, level and similar requirements, then it is illegal. If there is no valid target for the action, then it is illegal.
As an exception to this rule, it is possible to declare such an action, then perform a react or trigger an on-going or static effect that makes it legal. The action may not be performed if such a fix is not possible (you cannot start an illegal action and then let it fail), and it fails if the fix itself does not succeed.
Zero Effect :
If performing an action will have no actual effect on the game, then it is illegal. That is, an action may not be performed if it will not produce any change beyond its cost. Triggering a react is not considered to be an effect of the triggering action.
Steps of an Action :
1) Declare the action and who is performing it. 2)Pay the costs of the action (this might include targeting). 3)Generate the effects of the action (this might also include targeting). 4) Resolve the action.
Steps of a Strike :
1) Choose the target of the strike. 2) Make the strike roll. 3) Determine if the result of the roll is a hit or miss. 4) If the strike hit, inflict a wound on the target.5) Resolve the strike.
Canceled Strikes and Actions :
When a strike or action is canceled, its effect immediately stops - skip to the end of it, ignoring any steps not already taken. The strike or action is still considered performed (unsuccessfully). Its costs remain paid, and any effect it already had also remains. Its targets may respond to having been targeted by it.
Canceling the equipping of an item causes the item to be discarded. Canceling an action with a limit on the number of times it can be performed still counts against that limit.
Canceling an action's cost :
If the cost of an action is prevented (healing a wound before it is suffered, killing a character before they are spent, etc), then the cost is not paid and the action is canceled. This is different than ''undoing'' the cost of an action (readying a character after they are spent, returning a character to play that was killed, etc.), which does not ''unpay'' the cost and has no effect on the action.
Leaving play :
If the character performing a strike or action leaves play for any reason other than the strike or action itself (ex. he is killed by a strike or react), then the strike or action is canceled.
On the other hand, even if the source of the action being performed leaves play (ex. the item is destroyed or the action card is put in the discard pile), the action continues as long as the cost has been paid and other requirements met.
Targeting :
All melee and ranged strikes target. Most actions target. On-going effects may target at the time they are generated by an action, but do not continue to do so. Static effects do not target unless they produce a strike. Basically, only actions and strikes target and only while being performed.
An action only targets a character or other card if it says it does (i.e. ''Target an opposing character within one rank''). Also, if any part of an action targets a character, then the action is considered to target the character (i.e. ''Order: Perform a +0 ranged strike.'' - the target of the strike is also the target of the order). Unless the action states otherwise, only cards that are in play may be targeted by an action.
Mass Targeting :
When performing an action that targets all of the characters (or items) in a certain group (such as all characters in your army or in an opposing front rank, or all items with a certain trait), target each of the characters in the group one-by-one until they are all targeted. Each character may not be a target of the action more than once. If there are any characters in the group that cannot be targeted by the action (due to other card effects), simply leave them untargeted and unaffected.
The action affects each character in the order that they were targeted.
Multi-Targeting :
Similar to mass targeting, but the action specifies a limited number of characters (or items) to target. Select each target one-by-one until that number has been reached. Again, each character may not be a target of the action more than once, and the action affects each character in the order they were targeted.
Redirection :
In order to change the target of a strike or action to another target, the new target must be a legal choice as a target (based on distance, orientation, etc.). In other words, the controller of the strike or action must have been able to choose the new target originally.
A character (or item) that has had a strike or action successfully redirected to a new target is no longer (and is considered to never have been) a target of the strike or action. For this reason, redirection has little effect on Mass Targeting actions the action will simply target the character anew. Similarly, the character performing a Multi-Targeting action may simply choose to target the character again.
Actions vs. On-Going or Static Effect :
Sometimes, players have both an action and an on-going or static effect that are triggered by the same event. When this occurs, all the actions are performed first, then the on-going and static effects are handled. These effects are handled just like reacts in most respects, such as resolving in Initiative order and rechecking the validity of the trigger before occurring.
Adjacency :
A character is adjacent to another character if they are next to each other in the same rank. A rank is adjacent to the ranks in front of and behind it. Every player's front rank is adjacent to every other player's front rank.
Deck Etiquette :
If an action instructs you to search your deck, or reveal or retrieve cards from your deck, then you must shuffle your deck afterwards. However, if the card was simply taken from the top of the deck (i.e. ''Reveal the top card. If its a spell, put it in your hand.'') or the action states what to do with all of the cards (i.e. ''Reveal the top three cards. Put them back in any order.''), then you do not shuffle. If the action requires that it be a specific card or that the card be of a specific type (a Dwarf, a Weapon, etc.), then you must reveal the card to your opponents.
General vs. Specific :
Whenever the two card effects contradict each other, the one that is more specific or that imposes a negative condition takes precedence. If a react may be performed in response to more than one trigger, then it always responds to the most specific trigger possible (ex. ''After a strike or action targets this character: Cancel the strike or action'' always responds to and cancels the strike, even though the strike is part of an action).
Planar :
The positive and negative energies surrounding characters from the Astral and Ethereal planes of existence make striking them in combat an extremely difficult proposition. When performing a melee or ranged strike against a Planar character, an odd die roll (the ''natural'' roll, before any bonuses or penalties are added to the result) is a miss, even if the strike's total is equal to or greater than the target's AC.
A strike performed as part of a spell's effect ignores these rules and hits Planar characters normally.
Summoned Characters :
A character created by a card effect (such as a familiar that comes to life) is a ''summoned'' character. It has the same alignment as the character that performed the action to create it, if the action does not specify one. Conversely, the summoned character is factionless, unless the action specifies one.
Unique :
Some cards have the Unique trait. You may not bring a Unique card into play, by any means, if you already control another one with that name in play.
Feats :
Feats are special skill-based actions that a character may perform if he has the appropriate trait. When a feat is performed, the character makes a skill check against DC 20, adding to the roll his skill and any specific bonus he has (i.e. a character with +3 skill and Riposte +5 would add +8 to the roll). If a character gains a Feat trait from more than one source, such as a pair of items, the bonuses are simply added together.
Feats Notes : You can find the complete Feats List (Prouesses in french) just
In Another Formation :
It is possible to move a character into another player's formation. The only way to do this is with an action that specifically moves the character into the other formation (ex. Stealth); maneuvering and other typical movement actions cannot be used to do so. If any of your characters are ever beyond the last occupied rank of another formation, they are all immediately moved into the last occupied rank of that formation, in their current orientation. If at any time there are no characters you do not control in another formation, then all of your characters in that formation return to your front rank, in their current orientation. If at any time there are no characters you control in your own formation, then all of your characters in other formations return to your front rank, in their current orientation. Your characters do not affect the legality of the ranks of other formations. You may move characters you control from the front rank of another formation into your front rank with normal forward movement. Characters may perform action cards while in another formation. Characters may equip items while in another formation, but do not add the number of their current rank to their level.
Other Notes : Dungeon Rules see the ToL Expansion Explanations / Planes of Secret or Light and Shadow Explanations.
WARLORD CCG 4ED RULES RESSOURCES DOWNLOAD AND LINKS.
Note that : Each old FAQ Rules are available as download in each expansions or articles.
Texts Sources : Warlord CCG Official Website, Warlord 4th edition Rules sheet.
Thanks for you shopping with us !
.
  • Warlord CCG : Rules English Part II